Waterstones Children’s Book Prize

A Kind of Spark

A Kind of Spark

The Waterstones Children’s Book Prize hasn’t been going for long, since 2005, and I’ve been a longlist reader for several years now and it’s always great fun though hard work.

2022 – The Last Bear by Hannah Gold
2021 – A Kind of Spark by Elle McNicoll
2020 – Look Up! by Nathan Bryon
2019 – The Boy at the Back of the Class by Onjali Q. Raúf
2018 – The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas
2017 – The Girl of Ink and Stars by Kiran Millwood Hargrave
2016 – My Brother is a Superhero by David Solomon
2015 – Blown Away by Rob Biddulph
2014 – Rooftoppers by Katherine Rundell
2013 – Ketchup Clouds by Annabel Pitcher
2012 – The Pirates Next Door by Jonny Duddle
2011 – Artichoke Hearts by Sita Brahmachari
2010 – The Great Hamster Massacre by Katie Davies
2009 – 13 Treasures by Michelle Harrison
2008 – Ways to Live Forever by Sally Nicholls
2007 – Darkside by Tom Becker
2006 – The Diamond of Drury Lane by Julia Golding
2005 – The Cry of the Icemark by Stuart Hill

If you want to help and support this blog you could become a Patreon which would help pay for my hosting, domain names, streaming services, and the occasional bag of popcorn to eat while watching films.

If you can’t support with a monthly subscription a tip at my Ko-Fi is always appreciated, as is buying things from my Ko-Fi Shop.

You can always email me on contact@bigbeardedbookseller.com with any suggestions.